Minnesota Flyer - Serving Midwest Aviation Since 1960

Stitt receives scholarship

Academy College awards first $10,000 Sherm Booen Legacy Scholarship


January 1, 2018

Photo courtesy of Academy College

Academy College faculty and staff award the 2017 scholarship to winner Erik Stitt.

In 2016 a Scholarship program established in to celebrate Academy College's 80th Anniversary. The scholarship provides $10,000 for one aviation degree-seeking student pursuing a professional pilot career in honor of Sherm Booen.

Meet Erik Stitt

Erik was born and raised just north of the twin cities. He graduated from St. Francis High School. Throughout his youth, he spent a lot of time with the Boy Scouts, eventually earning the highest rank as an Eagle Scout.

Erik always had a strong interest in space and technology but was unsure how this interest would become a career. A few years after high school, he discovered flying and the ability to become a commercial pilot.

He knew this was his direction. Erik enrolled in the Bachelor of Science – Commercial Pilot program at Academy College in Bloomington, Minnesota.

"I could not be happier with my decision, the training that I am receiving is top notch, and learning to fly in Minnesota offers enormous advantages over schools in the south," said Erik.

Erik has completed and obtained his FAA Commercial Multi-Engine certification. Last year be began working towards his Flight Instructor Certificate.

Erik's goals are to instruct at Thunderbird Aviation, fly for the airlines, and continue to give back and mentor other aviation enthusiasts.

Congratulations to Erik!

The 2018 Scholarship application deadline is May 31, 2018. Contact Academy College at 952-851-0066, or email:

scholarship@academycollege.edu for scholarship details.

Academy College would like to thank the following individuals for their generous donations to the 2017 scholarship fund: D'Ette Roberts, Hubert Wegele, Diane Peterson, Dale and Lynne Hendrickson, Wayne and Patricia Marzolf, Bonnie and Robert Hanson, Timothy and Mary Valenton, Connie Doyle-Polk, Carol Lindberg and Al Malmberg. Thank you for your contributions!


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021