Serving Midwest Aviation Since 1960

Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame Award Banquet 2016

Award banquet and ceremony honors aviation greats

Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame Award Banquet's begin with an oh-so-fun social hour where people get mill around with their favorite beverage, introduce themselves to the inductees, and catch up with each other on what's happened for the past year. Artwork is displayed. Bios on inductees are available. Conversations about aviation abound.

Stan Turner was the Master of Ceremonies at the April 30 banquet and ceremony held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. Inductees were Lloyd A. Alsworth, Julie E. Clark, Edward L. Erickson, Melvin J. Mass, Edgar T. Newberg, and Congressman James L. Oberstar, and Boris Popov.

The Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame has granted twenty aviation scholarships since 2006. Current scholarship amounts are $1,500 for each recipient. Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame Aviation Scholarships awarded at the 2016 ceremony went to Kyle Budach, receiving the Ken Dahlberg Scholarship, Jared Krause, receiving the Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame Scholarship, and Amy Dahlheimer, receiving the Don Hinz Red Tail Project Scholarship.

Pilot Reverend Linton L. Scott received the Outstanding Service to Minnesota Aviation Award for his work with youth in the Twin City Metro area. Rev. Scott provides career guidance for minority and disadvantaged youth. He draws from aviation ideals, discipline, work ethic, moral values, and flying skills to encourage young people and to support their future careers.

Minnesota native David Weiman received the Best Aviation Writing by a Minnesotan Award. Frank T. Cuden received the Best Aviation Art by a Minnesotan award.

The banquet and ceremony was attended by a Who's Who in Aviation crowd. Each inductee was honored by the presentation of a plaque and brief description of their accomplishments.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/21/2024 06:46