Serving Midwest Aviation Since 1960

Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame announces 2016 inductees

The Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame, a nonprofit organization that honors pioneer and historic Minnesotans for their contributions to aviation, recently announced its 2016 Hall of Fame inductees.

These seven individuals will be recognized at a banquet on April 30, 2016 at the Ramada Mall of America in Bloomington. The inductees represent legislators, pilots, flights instructors and inventors.

Among the inductees:

Lloyd Alsworth (1906-1992) – a native of Sherborne, MN, Alsworth ran the Fairmont Flying School from 1949-1975 where he trained an estimated 3,500 students and issued just as many Private, Commercial, Multi-Engine, and Seaplane ratings. The terminal at Fairmont airport is dedicated in his name.

Julie E. Clark (1948-) – Clark was the first female pilot at a major airline, Hughes AirWest. Her storied career from 1976-2004 includes a logbook with 66 aircraft types, 33,000 hours of flying and the restoration of a T-34 for airshows. Clark spends her summers at Minnesota Sky Harbor Airport in Webser, MN.

Edward L. Erickson (1930-2014) – a key player in the early days of the Waconia airport, Erickson’s airline career began in 1956 with North Central Airlines as a DC-3 captain and ended in 1990 with Northwest Airlines. In retirement, he flew with an aerobatic group flying the Pitts S1S and became chief pilot for AmJet. He was awarded the title of Master Pilot from the FAA.

Melvin J. Maas (1898-1964) – born in Duluth, Maas joined the Naval Air Reserve after WWI and rose to Lt. Col. He was elected to U.S. Congress in 1928 and served on the House Naval Affairs Committee where he introduced the bill that would become the 1938 Naval Reserve Act.

Edward T. Newberg (1954-) – from his first solo to flying charter planes, Newberg has spent most of his career at Hector Airport where he has served as FBO since 1977. He is passionate about youth and aviation.

James L. Oberstar (1934-2014) – Oberstar built his 34-year career as U.S. Congressman for Minnesota’s 8th district on transportation issues and policy. In Washington, he pushed to enact aviation funding and safety measures. At home, he promoted efforts to expand regional airports to foster tourism, and spearheaded light rail, bridges, and trails.

Boris Popov (1946-) – Popov invented the Ballistic Recovery System (BRS) that is standard on 50% of the ultralights flying today and has saved hundreds of lives. He remains an active member of the BRS board. Born in Munich, his family settled in Minnesota.

In addition, the Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame named David Weiman Writer of the Year, Frank Cuden Artist of the Year and Reverend Linton L. Scott as the Special Service Award recipient. At the 2016 banquet, scholarships will be presented to the next generation of aerospace leaders and innovators.

Since 1988, the Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame has inducted 184 individuals.

The Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame is a nonprofit Minnesota corporation, recognized by the State of Minnesota as a means of honoring its pioneer and historic aviation persons in a lasting and significant way. It is a vehicle for putting their names and careers before the public so that citizens of Minnesota may become familiar with the contributions made by those who helped promote the healthy aviation climate we are so proud of today.

For more information on inductees past and present, and banquet event details, you may visit

The deadline for 2017 inductees is January 31, 2016. Visit website for details.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/21/2024 06:46